Wings and Wheels 2017 Recap
-Rob Janovic Jr Takes First SK Win Of 2017-

WAERFORD, CT (8/12/17): Waterford, CT driver Rob Janovic Jr grabbed his first win of the 2017 season in the 35-lap SK Modified portion of Wings and Wheels. Janovic Jr started outside pole and had to fight a ill handling car as well as fend off a hard charging Kyle James to take down his first dual checkered flags of the year. “The car wasn’t good at all tonight, I had to make sure I hit all of my marks. The last lap we got together it was more of me backing into him than him tapping me,” explained Janovic after the event. Rounding out the top five were Kyle James, Keith Rocco, Todd Owen and Matthew Galko. Heat wins went to Todd Owen and Keith Rocco. In post heat inspection Owen’s #81x was found to have issues with his frame height and had to start at the rear of the field for the feature.

In the 25-lap SK Lite Modified event it was Dana DiMatteo taking the win. For the Farmington, CT driver, it was his third win of the season. DiMatteo used a sling shot move in turn two to grab the lead over Alan Gombos and sailed to the win. Finishing in the runner up spot was point leader Andrew Molleur, who was battling for the lead and missed a shift on a restart and fell back, Molleur’s car was on rails as he redeemed himself and finished behind DiMatteo. Finished third to fifth was Wayne Burroughs, John O’Sullivan and Calvin Therrien. Heat wins went to O’Sullivan and DiMatteo.

The NEMA Midgets were up next for their 25-lap event. It was Lakeville, MA Avery Stoehr putting the Bertrand Motorsports #39 machine into victory lane. Stoehr was battling Todd Bertrand for the lead until the third caution flew. As the yellow waved Bertrand pulled his Bertrand Motorsports machine into the infield with issues handing Stoehr the lead. For Stoehr he had to battle yet another Bertrand Motorsports Teammate in Randy Cabral who finished all over the back of Stoehr. John Zych Jr, Alan Chambers and Paul Scally rounded out the top-five. Todd Bertrand and Ted Christopher took down the heat wins.

Taking to the speedway next was the Valenti Modified Racing Series for their scheduled 100-lap event. Plainville, CT Ted Christopher dominated the event. Christopher shot out to the lead as the green waved. For Christopher, he had to withstand nine restarts and had to use tire management as the race was also red flagged as a crew member of the Steve Masse Team was clipped by another car during a pitstop. At the end, it was TC pulling ahead from the field to post the win. Rounding out the top five were Kyle James, Sammy Rameau, Donnie Lashua and Chris Pasteryak. Heat wins went to Christopher, Anthony Nocella and Lashua.

The NEMA Lites 25-lap feature was over quickly as they ran from the green to checkered. Polesitter Megan Cugini shot out of a canon and grabbed the lead. Cugini lead for 24-laps and left the door open on the inside for Dylan Duhaime. It was the only lap Duhaime led and it took him the checkered flag. Rounding the top five were Cugini, Ryan Locke, Ben Mikitarian and Paul Scally. Heat winners were Locke and Cugini.

The ATQ Midgets ran a carbon copy of the NEMA Lite feature with the same outcome. The 25-lap feature went green to checker. Matt Janish grabbed the lead as the green waved and pulled away from the field. With three laps to go Ryan Tidman caught Janish with two laps to go and powered around Janish and took down his fifth win of the season. Rounding out the top five were Joey Bailey in third, Geoffrey Sutton and Nick Ladyga. Heat wins went to Mark Yoder and Tidman.

The ISMA Modifieds started the day running two sets of group qualifying events to set up the heat lineups for the scheduled 75-lap feature. 14-cars took time and it was Michael Muldoon taking the top spot. After a three-car mishap that started the event, the red flag waved to put a halt on the event. The race continued only to have another red flag to wave. The #61 Mike Ordway smacked the back-stretch wall. When the race was getting ready to continue it was announced the feature would be shortened to 50-laps. Timmy Jedrzejek and Trent Stephens battled for the lead as the race was winding down. The caution flew on lap-39 as the sky opened and the race was red/checkered and the win went to Jimmy Jedrzejek. Rounding out the top five went to Trent Stephens, Mike McVetta, Mike Lichty and Rob Summers. Heat wins went to Rob Summers and Mike Lichty.

The Speedbowl returns to action Wednesday August 16th for Wacky Wednesday and the Pit Party scheduled to kick off the evening.

SK Modifieds (35-laps) Rob Janovic Jr, Kyle James, Keith Rocco, Todd Owen, Matthew Galko, Diego Monahan, Brent Sweet, Jedd Fialkovich, Paul Buzel, Joshua Zentek, Dylan Izzo, Ted Christopher
SK Lites (25-laps) Dana DiMatteo, Andrew Molleur, Wayne Burroughs, John O’Sullivan, Alan Gombos, Calvin Therrien, Larry Goss, Alan Benincaso, William Benoit, Ethan Durocher, Chris Gombos, Scott Witt
NEMA Midgets (25-laps) Avery Stoehr, Randy Cabral, John Zych Jr, Alan Chambers, Paul Scally, Ted Christopher, Chris Deritis, Todd Bertrand, Jim Chambers, Bethany Stoehr, Doug Cleveland, Jim SantaMaria, Ryan Bigelow
VMRS (100-laps) Ted Christopher, Kyle James, Sammy Rameau, Donnie Lashua, Chris Pasteryak, Dave Etheridge, Colby Fournier, Derek Robbie, Andrew Molleur, Kyle Trayner, Matthew Mead, Jeffrey Gallup, Anthony Nocella, Mike Willis Jr, Anthony Flannery, Jon Kay, Steven Masse, Geoff Gernhard, Rob Richardi, Max Zachem, Brandon Dion
NEMA Lites (25-laps) Dylan Duhaime, Megan Cugini, Ryan Locke, Ben Mikitarian, Paul Scally, Randy Cabral, Dan Cugini, Jim Chambers, Chad Labastie, John Zych, Jim Cataldo, Andy Barrows, Richie Coy, Chris Vose, Dennis O’Brien, Danny Gamache, Jake Stergios, Ryan Bigelow

ATQ Midgets (25-laps) Ryan Tidman, Matt Janish, Joey Bailey, Geoffrey Sutton, Nick Ladyga, Jeff Kot, Mark Yoder, Ron Mullen, Cole Mullen, Joey Paine III, Eric Corum, Dave Garbatuk, Buddy Sloan, Shilo Boyce,
ISMA Modifieds (50-laps) Timmy Jedrzejek, Trent Stephens, Mike McVetta, Mike Lichty, Rob Summers, Mark Sammut, Michael Muldoon, Jon McKennedy, Moe Lilje, Justin Belfiore, Dan Bowers, Mike Ordway Jr, Alison Cumens, Chris Perley