Patnode Takes Seventh Win of the Season at Monadnock Speedway Saturday

Winchester, NH — It was a classic late August night at Monadnock Speedway Saturday. Drivers trying to keep streaks alive and gain points for their championship, fans getting in one more night of racing before school starts and a cool evening with a gorgeous fuchsia sunset lighting up the fair-weather clouds.

Monadnock’s premier division, the Sportsman Modifieds, had it’s share race-slowing cautions over the 50-lap feature. But in the end, point leader Todd Patnode took his seventh win of the season. Early leader Kenny Thompson of Alstead, NH, gave way to the Swanzey, NH, driver on lap fourteen. From there Patnode cruised to victory lane.  Ben Byrne of Greenfield, MA, and Whately, MA, driver Joel Monahan of Whately, MA, both tried catch Patnode, but spent most of the last half of the race battling each other with a small degree of contact included. Monahan held sway with a second place finish. Byrne settled for third.

The highly anticipated Late Model Sportsman feature didn’t disappoint. Solomon Brow of Vernon, VT, extended his record-setting win streak to eleven. Brow moved in front on lap two and never looked back. Cole Littlewood of Orange, MA, collected second place money. Mark Curtis from Brookfield, MA, survived the mid-pack infighting for third.

Mini Stock point leader, Louie Maher of Baldwinville, MA, got back on the winning track with his third win of the year. Maher caught and passed early leader, Kevin McKnight of Orange, MA, on lap eleven rode to victory lane. McKnight was happy to be second after several races with crashes and mechanical issues. Tim Wenzel of Holyoke, MA, jumped from sixth to third on the final turn when his brother Nate and two other cars got tangled up dicing for third, fourth and fifth.

The Street Stocks put a competitive field the high banks for their 25-lap feature. In the end a new win streak was created when Belchertown, MA’s, Chris Buffone grabbed his second consecutive win. Veteran Street-stocker, Ed LoFland also of Belchertown, MA was second. Rutland, MA, driver Chase Curtis rolled into another podium finish in third.

The Pure Stock division had their feature highlighted by the evening’s brilliant fuchsia sunset. It must have been good luck for rookie driver, Cooper Roberge of Milford, NH. Roberge stole the lead from the winner two weeks ago, Clarke Brooks of Raymond, NH.  They both pulled away from the field by the half-way point. The focus was on the stellar effort by third finisher, Taylor Streibel of Dalton, MA. She had all she could do to keep point leader, Chris Davis of Winchester, NH, behind her for the last nineteen laps of the 25-lap race.

Despite having a broken axle in the qualifying race and pitting for a flat tire change in the feature, Jake Puchalski of Whately, MA, was still able to capture his ninth win of the year in the Young Guns division. Matt Winter of Alstead, NH, took second followed by J.D. Stockwell of Turner’s Falls, MA.

The Exit Realty Pro Truck series made their second visit to Monadnock for 55 lap feature event.

Lucas Leone of Southington, CT, lead the entire race fending off serious challenges before the checkers fell. Tommy Metcalf of Stonington, CT, stayed in the top three all race long for second. Dave Koenig of Baldwin, LI, NY, had a strong late race charge to finish third.

Action returns to Monadnock Speedway this Saturday at six PM with twin features for the Sportsman Modifieds plus support divisions.

Sportsman Modified Results:  Todd Patnode, Joel Monahan, Ben Byrne, Keith Carzello, Tyler Jarvenpaa, JT Cloutier, Scott MacMichael, Kim Rivet, Kenny Thompson, Eric Leclair, Matt Kimball, Andy Major, Alyssa Rivera, Kevin Pittsinger

Late Model Sportsman Results: Solomon Brow, Cole Littlewood, Marc Curtis, Will Kuhn, Ryan Bell, Eric Pomasko, Justin Littlewood, Nancy Muni-Ruot, Scott Beck, Ronald Laperche, Robert Hagar, Keith Carzello

Street Stocks Results: Chris Buffone, Ed Lofland, Chase Curtis, Dave Greenslit, Ben Wiilams, Hillary Renaud, Jaret Curtis, Mike Radzuik, Travis Cass, Craig Chaffee, Josh Carey, Michelle Leh, Nathaniel Nunez

Mini Stocks Results: Louis Maher, Kevin McKnight, Tim Wenzel, Pat Houle, Gordon Farnum, Haydon Grenier, Kevin Clayton, Shelby Avery, Nathaniel Wenzel, Kevin Cormier, Matt Croteau, Jeff Asselin, Ethan Marsh, Cory Plummer

Pure Stock Results: Cooper Roberge, Clark Brooks, Taylor Striebel, Chris Davis, Sammy Silva, Dylan Cabral, Thomas Englehart, Joe Brittain, Mike Douglas, Rich Hamman (DNQ)

Young Gun Results: Jake Puchalski, Matthew Winter, JD Stockwell, AaronThompson, Matt Lambert, Reagan Buffum

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This