Take Two: Riverside Ending 50th-Anniversary Season on Saturday

JAMES RIVER, NS (September 10, 2019) – Management at Riverside International Speedway and the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour are ready to make a second attempt this Saturday at the event originally scheduled for the James River track last Saturday, but postponed due to Hurricane Dorian. While most of the event details remain as they were, some information is updated (noted in bold).

Additionally, management for the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour is announcing the Atlantic Oliver Tire 200 series finale at Scotia Speedworld, near Halifax, originally set for Sept. 14, has been rescheduled for Sept. 28 starting at 4 p.m.

This 2019 season has been a 50th-anniversary celebration to remember at Riverside International Speedway, a season which will conclude Saturday night with a big show featuring round 11 of 12 for the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour in the Lucas Oil 150, championship-deciding races for the Napa Sportsman Series and the Passione Flooring East Coast Mini Stock Tour.

Fans should note a 4 p.m. start time for this event; the grandstand opens at Noon. And, fans should come to the track prepared to share favourite memories from Riverside as track announcer Dylan Langille will roam the grandstand throughout the afternoon/evening looking for special stories, rewarding the storytellers with official Riverside swag.

Additionally, management has announced a “Back to School” special offer for this event with FREE grandstand general admission for everyone 18 & under. Students are encouraged to wear school colours for a chance to win prizes.

A fireworks display is planned to end the evening and the at-track 50th-anniversary celebrations this Saturday, pending confirmation from the provider who remains without power and communications as of Tuesday. Further updates on the fireworks will be provided at www.RiversideSpeedway.ca.

“We really appreciate everyone’s support over the years and especially the enthusiasm we’ve seen this year with the 50th-anniversary celebration,” said Paul McLean, general manager for the facility. “With the points seasons winding down, the racing action is sure to be fierce in all three divisions.”

Truro’s Dylan Blenkhorn leads the chase for the championship with the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour as the series contests its second-to-last race for this season at Riverside with the Lucas Oil 150. Blenkhorn holds a 21-point advantage over Jonathan Hicken (Montague, PE). Jarrett Butcher (Porters Lake) is in third-place 89 markers out of second-place. Craig Slaunwhite (Terence Bay) is just four points behind Butcher and Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, PE) is 12 behind Butcher, rounding out the top five points-getters. Blenkhorn is a four-time PST feature winner at Riverside while Hicken is still looking for his first trip to Victory Lane at the historic 1/3-mile high banked oval.

Local favourites Donald Chisholm (Antigonish) and George Koszkulics (New Glasgow) are both expected to challenge series regulars in the Lucas Oil 150. Chisholm is an eight-time PST winner at Riverside, while Koszkulics has four PST feature wins at the fast oval. Chisholm will drive the No. 88 John Chisholm/Holman & Moody Mustang Boss 302/ RIS50 tribute car in the race. Both Chisholm and Koszkulics race out of the Antigonish-based Nova Racing stable.

Fans will also see Pictou’s up-and-coming racer Austin MacDonald make his PST debut. The teenager will drive a car out of the King Racing shop owned by his grandfather, racing legend Rollie MacDonald. Austin, who turned 16 on August 27, started racing cars in the Bandolero division when he was 10 and soon moved into Legends Cars which he has raced all over the United States and Canada, including twice at Riverside.

EXPECTED ENTRY LIST – LUCAS OIL 150 (Updated from Sept. 6)

1.       (02) Craig Ward, Riverview, NB

2.       (07) Allison MacKinnon, Oyster Bed Bridge, PE

3.       (08) Nicholas Naugle, Dartmouth, NS

4.       (0) Shawn Turple, Enfield, NS

5.       (5) Jonathan Hicken, Montague, PE

6.       (8) Kent Vincent, Westmoreland, PE

7.       (11) Marty Prevost, Fall River, NS

8.       (13) Austin MacDonald, Pictou, NS

9.       (14) Terry Dougay, Albany, PE

10.   (21) Shawn Pierce, Newcombville, NS

11.   (23) Lonnie Sommerville, Barnesville, NB

12.   (29) Greg Proude, Springvale, PE

13.   (31) Chris Reid, Fort McMurray, AB

14.   (44) Russell Smith, Jr., Lakeside, NB

15.   (48) Waylon Farrell, Conception Bay South, NL

16.   (53) Cole Butcher, Porters Lake, NS

17.   (54) Jarrett Butcher, Porters Lake, NS

18.   (67) Dylan Blenkhorn, Brookside, NS

19.   (81) Nevin Scott, Cornwall, PE

20.   (82) Chris Hughes, Charlottetown, PE

21.   (88) Donald Chisholm, Antigonish, NS

22.   (89) George Koszkulics, New Glasgow, NS

23.   (91) Dylan Gosbee, Cornwall, PE

24.   (99) Craig Slaunwhite, Halifax, NS

Entry List is Subject to Change Without Notice.

The Napa Sportsman Series and the Passione Flooring East Coast Mini Stock Tour will both see series championships decided at Riverside this Saturday. The Napa Sportsman Series drivers will settle the title in the Henry’s AUTOPRO 75 and the Mini Stock Tour will contest a 50-lap feature to mark its season finale.

In the Napa Sportsman Series, Matt Vaughan (Bedford) leads the way by 22 markers over Colby Smith (Centreville). Darren Price (Main-a-Dieu) is third just three out of second, Dennis Nickerson (Marshy Hope) fourth – six out of third, and Ryan VanOirschot (Antigonish) fifth – just two markers out of fourth. Among the top five contenders for the title, Smith is the only former series champion (2011/2017/2018).

Dave Matthews (Nine Mile River) holds a commanding lead in the Passione Flooring East Coast Mini Stock Tour (MST) standings, with Neil Miousse (Kentville), Jesse Deveau (Greenwood), Cody Byrne (Orwell Cove, PE), and Drew MacEachern (Dartmouth) locked in a tight battle for second through fifth. Complete and current MST standings heading for the series championship race this Saturday can be found at eastcoastministocktour.com.

The Heart of a Champion Hot Rod Classics vintage racing series organizers will also be on hand Saturday showing their ’67 Chevelle restored race car as well as providing information for the newly formed series, expected to debut at Riverside in the spring of 2020.

The Lucas Oil 150 has seen 10 different winners in its 18-year history; Chisholm leads the way with four trips to Victory Lane in the event, most recently in 2017.

Reserved and general admission tickets can be purchased in advance at RiversideSpeedway.ca, until Thursday. General admission tickets will be available at the gate on race day, starting at Noon. There is plenty of free spectator and RV parking for this event; all camping areas will be open except for Family 1 which will be closed for the weekend to house the season-ending fireworks display. Camping reservations are not required for this event.

Riverside Speedway opened in 1969 under the helm of Antigonish businessman John Chisholm. It was sold in 1989 and bought back by Mr. Chisholm late in 2005, rebuilt in 2006 and rebranded Riverside International Speedway. For 50 years, the popular 1/3-mile high-banked asphalt oval has provided generations of race fans with some of the best stock car racing entertainment in North America. Fans who attend events this year will find enhanced track decor, limited edition 50th-anniversary merchandise, and more celebrating Riverside’s fantastic five decades.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This