SEEKONK, Mass. — It’s going to be coined as the biggest Modified race of 2020.

With more than 50 cars pre-registered, and the top Modified talent in the Northeast expected, Tri Track Open Modified Series teams are set for their debut at the famed Stafford Motor Speedway half-mile this Saturday, October 24.

The race has a total purse of over $57,000 — with a $10,000 winning prize on the line. It will pay $1,000 just to take the green flag in the 81-lap Call Before You Dig (CBYD) Modified Classic.

CBYD, a longtime supporter of racing at Stafford, is on board as the primary sponsor of this spectacular – a race that is drawing talent from the Tri Track Series, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, Race of Champions Tour and more. All of the biggest names are coming to the show, and fans aren’t going to want to miss it.

Names like Matt Hirschman, Doug Coby and Justin Bonsignore are set to battle with Woody Pitkat, Craig Lutz, Matt Swanson, Ron Silk, Chase Dowling, Ronnie Williams, Burt Myers and more. There will be a mix of Modified veterans, rising stars, Stafford regulars and invaders chasing the big check and bragging rights.

The race will mark the fourth and final of the year for the Tri Track Series — a year deeply affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. The original six-race schedule included two dates at Seekonk (Mass.) Speedway, but regulations by the state of Massachusetts forced those races cancelled. Craig Lutz (Monadnock Speedway), Matt Hirschman (Star Speedway) and Sam Rameau (Monadnock Speedway) are the three winners so far in 2020. 

While the race for the big check will be the story, the Tri Track abbreviated season champion will also be crowned. Matt Hirschman, looking for his fifth title, leads Craig Lutz by 18 points, Ron Silk by 24, Matt Swanson by 26 and Ronnie Williams by 30. Jon McKennedy (2014) and Ronnie Williams (2019) are the only other two drivers to score a title in the history of Tri Track. Williams still has a mathematical shot, but it would take a masterful performance, with struggles from those in front of him, to get it done.

Unlike any other track on the circuit, Stafford has a group of local competitors who could easily earn the prize. Keith Rocco, who clinched Stafford’s SK Modified title — his 18th NASCAR Division I track championship — entered with his familiar No. 57. Ronnie Williams, who is the defending Tri Track champion, won the two most recent SK Modified titles prior to this season. Rising star Marcello Rufrano, a winner at one of Stafford’s Open Modified 80 races already in 2020, along with veteran Todd Owen, Andrew Molleur, Matt Galko and Matt Vassar are likely to be contenders.

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Justin Bonsignore and six-time tour champion Doug Coby are bringing their battle to Tri Track after only a nine-race tour schedule in 2020 due to COVID-19. Bonsignore has yet to visit Victory Lane with the series, while Coby is a multiple-time winner of Open Wheel Wednesday’s $10,000 prize at Seekonk. Unlike Coby, who is a multiple-time champion and winner at Stafford, Bonsignore has yet to park his car in victory lane at the half-mile.

On top of the major purse structure, contingency awards for the event will give drivers even more incentive. A $1,000 Hard Charger Award from Green Construction is on the line, along with a $300 award towards the fastest lap of the race, courtesy of Stone’s Parts and Performance. Each driver who wins a qualifying race — whether heat or consi – will earn $300 courtesy of Pepsi and the Pepsi Challenge. 

Superior Refinishing has also posted $800 – if the driver who starts on the pole wins the race, it will boost the winnings to $10,800. If they don’t — that money will be distributed through a B-Main. As long as there are 10 cars willing to take the green on race day, a B-Main will take place for those who don’t qualify into the feature.

Stafford’s own Street Stocks and SK Light Modifieds will also join the card as part of the final event at the Arute-family owned oval for the 2020 season. As part of sponsorship from R.A.D. Auto Machine and Gaston Racing Enterprises, boosted purses are available for both divisions, set for 25-lap races. The bonus money allows both purses to be raised by approximately 60 percent. 

Pit gates will open at 8:30 a.m., with the first cars hitting the track for a 90-minute Tri Track practice session from 11-12:30 p.m. Heat races are set to begin at 1:30 p.m., with consi races and the 81-lap feature set to follow. The 81-lap feature is scheduled to take the green flag at approximately 4:30 p.m. 

Tickets are still available, online, via the Stafford website, but fans and teams are encouraged to act quickly, as this event is likely to sell out. Stafford’s capacity is restricted due to regulations put in place by the state of Connecticut to stop the spread of COVID-19. For those race fans who are out of the area and can’t make it to the track, a PPV broadcast will be available on StaffordSpeedway.TV. 

For more information on Stafford Motor Speedway, visit and follow the track on social media. For more information on the Tri Track Open Modified Series, visit and follow the series on social media.
00 – Justin Bonsignore 
00 – Tommy Membrino Jr. 
06 – Les Hinckley 
1 – Joey Cipriano 
2X – Paul Kusheba 
3 – Matt Galko 
3 – Matt Swanson 
6 – Woody Pitkat 
7 – Mike Christopher Jr. 
8 – Nick Salva 
8 – Cam McDermott 
9 – Tommy Barrett 
9 – Chase Dowling 
11 – Matt Vassar 
11NC – Burt Myers 
13 – Dylan Izzo 
14 – Blake Barney 
20 – Max Zachem 
23 – Troy Talman 
25 – Doug Coby 
25 – Calvin Carroll 
25 – Brian Robie 
25CT – Anthony Flannery 
33 – Michael Gervais Jr. 
34 – Dave Ethridge 
35 – Andrew Molleur 
36 – Dave Sapienza 
39 – Sal Accardi Jr. 
44 – Trevor Bleau 
44 – Anthony Sesely 
46 – Craig Lutz 
47 – Joey Muccicciaro 
48 – Marcello Rufrano 
50 – Ronnie Williams 
50S – Ron Silk 
50H – Noah Korner 
55 – Ryan Doucette 
57 – Keith Rocco 
58 – Eric Goodale 
59 – Andy Jankowiak 
60 – Matt Hirschman 
66 – Austin Kochenash 
74 – Manny Dias 
74 – Shawn Thibeault 
75 – Chris Pasteryak 
76 – Kirk Alexander 
78 – Walter Sutcliffe Jr. 
81 – Todd Owen 
87 – Brett Gonyaw 
92 – Anthony Nocella
93 – George Sherman 
99 – Richard Savary 
176 – Dana DiMatteo 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This