Busch Finishes 14th at Martinsville

rtttryKurt Busch, driver of the No. 41 Haas Automation Chevrolet SS for Stewart-Haas Racing (SHR), finished 14th in the Martinsville 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race Sunday at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway.

Busch started the race from the 26th position but was able to make passes early and often throughout the 500-lap race, despite struggling with handling issues that at times saw his Haas Automation Chevrolet loose entering the corners, tight in the center and loose on exit. He raced his way to the lead on lap 134, and he held the point for 21 laps before fading as his handling woes worsened.

[Read more…]

Strong Return for Patrick at Martinsville

qwerttDanica Patrick recovered from being a lap down and made a strong return at the height of tax season to finish seventh in the No. 10 TaxACT Chevrolet SS for Stewart-Haas Racing (SHR) in Sunday’s Martinsville 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway.

Patrick’s effort marked her first top-10 of the season and the fifth top-10 of her 88-race Sprint Cup career. She is now tied with Janet Guthrie for the most top-10 Sprint Cup finishes by a female driver.

[Read more…]

Ryan Newman and Team Endure Rough Ride to 27th-Place Finish at Martinsville Speedway

asfdfdRyan Newman and the No. 31 Quicken Loans Chevrolet SS team started the 500-lap race at Martinsville Speedway with high hopes and aspirations after starting on the outside pole for Sunday afternoon’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race but ultimately secured a 27th-place finish. Early in the race, Newman raced in the top five and led two of the first 20 laps. After pitting under the second caution flag for tires, fuel and minor chassis adjustments, he restarted second on lap 60. However, through the next long run under green, Newman was caught in the outside line and freight trained by other cars causing him to fall in the running order. Then, the rear tires were not responding to track conditions and caused an even farther fall, placing him in 37th-place by lap 120.

[Read more…]

Paul Menard Finishes 23rd in Caution-Filled Race at Martinsville Speedway

asfdfdPaul Menard drove to a hard-fought 23rd-place finish in Sunday’s 500-lap NASCAR Sprint Cup Series event at Martinsville Speedway. Menard started from the 13th position and maintained a spot in the top 20 for 52 laps of competition. When the caution flag was displayed on lap 53, Menard reported the Pittsburgh Paints/Menards Chevrolet was loose through the center of turns. Crew chief Justin Alexander made the call for four tires, fuel and removed a spring rubber from the right rear. Through the next 164 laps, Menard fought a loose-handling condition and chatter in the right rear which brought him to pit road four times for fresh tires, fuel and wedge adjustments. The Wisconsin native was caught up in a multi-car incident on lap 227, forcing him to pit road for damage repair to the nose of his Chevy.

[Read more…]

Mechanical Issues Relegate Austin Dillon to 41st-Place Finish at Martinsville Speedway

fasfasfdgdfgdSporting the yellow and black colors of Cheerios on Richard Childress Racing’s No. 3 Chevrolet for the first time this season, sophomore NASCAR Sprint Cup Series competitor Austin Dillon raced as high as 13th in the Martinsville 500 before developing a mechanical issue and finishing 41st. Dillon started the 500-lap race from the 22nd position and raced inside the top 20 for the first 100 laps before developing a loose-handling condition and dropping to 31st in the running order. As Dillon struggled with a lack of forward drive, he fell one lap down to the race leader, but found relief to the handling issues following a pit stop on lap 166 for four tires, fuel and a wedge adjustment. Restarting 30th on lap 170, Dillon spent the next 50 circuits battling for the “Lucky Dog” position and earned his lap back when the caution flag was displayed on lap 218. Once back on the lead lap, Dillon quickly raced his way into the top 15 driving up to 13th in the running order. As the laps progressed, Dillon started to report a loose-handling condition and the No. 3 Chevrolet began smoking shortly after lap 300.

[Read more…]


sfdgdfgdfMARTINSVILLE, Va. – March 29, 2015 – Martin Truex, Jr., No. 78 Furniture Row/Visser Precision Chevrolet SS, earned his sixth consecutive top-10 finish of 2015 with a sixth-place effort in the STP 500 at Martinsville Speedway. The sixth round of the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season ended with five Chevrolet SS race cars finishing in the top 10.

[Read more…]