[nggallery id=142]

Joey Pole made history on September 14, adding name to the impressive list of winners for the Granite State Pro Stock Series on Saturday, and also by winning the final race at the 1/3 mile banked oval. 28 cars attempted to qualify for this historic event, with 22 taking the green flag.

2012 Canaan Pro Stock Champion Jeremy Davis, winner of the May 4th event, led the field down to the green, but the caution came out before the first lap could be completed, setting a tone for the event. By the time the race was 10 laps in, four cars had already retired from the event. Pole and Davis took time leading the race with Davis leading all but the opening two cirsuits.

At the lap 25 mark, Davis continued to hold on with Pole second, Matt Frahm third, Bobby Baillargeon fourth and Larry Gelinas fifth. The seventh caution of the affair came out on the 34th lap for Wayne Heliwell Sr. Another handful of cautions slowed up the event by the halfway point. By this time, Pole had re-taken the lead over Davis, Gelinas, Davis and Frahm.

Pole continued to hang on to the lead over the second half of the race, but a lap 61 caution allowed Frahm to move past Davis into the runner up position. Davis held off Gelinas and Donnie Lashua, who was working his way back through the field from a lap 24 incident that also involved point leader Mike O’Sullivan.

Frahm’s chance at victory ended on lap 82, when his car came to a stop on the track. This moved Davis back to the outside of the front row on the restart, and another chance to close his home track his way. He couldn’t get past Pole, but held on to second for several laps before Gelinas slid past for second with just five laps remaining. Larry had his luck change when he and Donnie Lashua brought out the final caution with 3 laps remaining.

With one mile remaining before the Sunoco Checkers, Pole held off Davis and picked up his first Granite State Pro Stock win. Davis held on for second, with Mike Parks moving to third on the final laps. Bryon Baker and Mike O’Sullivan rounded out the top five.

With one race left on the Granite State Pro Stock Series schedule, the championship standings is down to points between leader Mike O’Sullivan and Jeremy Davis. Who will win the 2013 Granite State Pro Stock Championship on October 20.

For more information, check out our website at gspss.net, or find us on Facebook under Granite State Pro Stock Series.
1) Joey Polewarczyk
2) Jeremy Davis
3) Mike Parks
4) Bryon Baker
5) Mike O’Sullivan
6) Wayne Helliwell Sr
7) Matt Pepin
8) Matt Frahm
9) Zach Jewett
10) Donnie Lashua
11) Larry Gelinas
12) Jake Vanada
13) Jay Sands
14) Russ Hersey
15) George Bessette
16) Bobby Baillargeon
17) Zig Geno
18) Fran Colson
19) Josh King
20) Tom O’Sullivan
21) Carl Ericksson
22) Barry Gray

DNQ) Eric Sands
DNQ) Phil Meany
DNQ) Dave Davis
DNQ) Austin Brehio

Sunoco Fuel Qualifier Winners: Jeremy Davis, Mike O’Sullivan, Russ Hersey, Carl Ericksson
Performance Unlimited Performance of NH ½ way leader bonus: Joey Polewarczyk AR Bodies Hard Luck Award: Josh King
Bond Auto Parts award, given to the last driver on the lead lap: Donnie Lashua
Sherwood Wheel $50.00 gift certificate 5th place finish Award: Mike O’Sullivan
Ricky’s Real Racer award, given to the driver who picks up the most positions in the race: Bryon Baker